top of page
Search

A Q + A W/ P!

Hi everyone! It’s Jade again :)


One sunny Sunday afternoon I got a chance to talk with a wonderful Black artist here on campus, Prishina Coleman. A recent transfer to the University of Illinois Urbana Champaign, Pri is a dance major who loves to choreograph, create, and outreach to help those she can with her gifts. I got to talk to my fellow dancer and ask her some questions, and the following is a *transcript of our conversation. I hope you have as much fun learning about Pri as I did! She’s truly an amazing human being inside and out, so enjoy our chat!


A Q and A with Pri!


Jade: So just to start off, I already know the answers to some of these (laughter) but what is your name and major?

Pri: My name is Prishina Coleman and my major is dance! I’m a dance major here.

Jade: Awesome! So along with that what do you create?

Pri: Along with that I’m a choreographer too. I teach ballet, African dance, Zumba fitness. And contemporary dances too! I love Zumba fitness, I love working out (laughter) I love it a lot!

Jade: Wow so that’s awesome, you’re a choreographer. You dance, teach dance classes...

Pri: Oh yes I’m also the artistic director of a non-profit organization, a performing arts organization. We do mentorship, act, sing, do poetry. I’m all about the mentorship, I always love mentoring young ladies and giving them advice and everything. They look up to me so I always just try to keep a positive mindset with them, they going through alot.

Jade: Yeah wow I love that. Is that in connection with back home (Chicago)?

Pri: Mhm yeah! We finally got our own building. I was so happy. When I tell you it’s been a long process. But we have our own building. You can see the mirrors, like, yep! That’s for classes! That’s where they’re gonna be!

Jade: So amazing! What’s the name of the organization and where is it?

Pri: Divine Purpose Youth Organization! 9210 South Commercial! It’s legit! I was so excited. I’m so grateful.

Jade: That’s amazing, we love gratitude (laughter). When you were young, what first inspired you to create?

Pri: Well when I was little I started doing praise dancing. And I was little little. My idols were Micheal Jackson, Chris Brown, Beyonce. I used to always learn Single Ladies and stuff!

Jade: ME TOO!!

Pri: Haha I know right. What inspires me honestly, I like teaching too. And watching my mom teach us, she only taught us hip hop dances. But I got really inspired. And I was able to start getting involved at a really young age. ‘Lemme teach you guys a lil of this’ and imagine, I don’t know nothing about dance but I was just like, I’ll show them some moves! And I realized I’d love to do this! We [Her mom and her] started a dance group called Divas. We had block parties and everything. They were super fun.

-----

Jade: So this next question is a long one haha, get ready. Given the time that we are living in, with the pandemic, with the constant acts of injustice to black bodies in the US and elsewhere, with the election just happening, how has/does that affect your creativity?

Pri: Ooh that is a really long question. I think (laughter). I did take a break though. Took a break from my YouTube and everything, I didn’t have any content. Not posting like I usually do. There was a lot going on. I do feel like I need to take a social media break. And I need to meditate more, at least everyday. Just to get my spirits together (laughter). I don’t need no negativity around me. I definitely did affect me, but I need to get back on it. I can’t slack, or give up so easily either. I like to keep it going, keep pressing on. You can’t just give up when things get hard. I’ve been making up dances in my head now, then I get to do them in person and I’m like ‘oh no it don’t look right’ (laughter). But yeah, I can't give up so easily.

Jade: I definitely understand that. There’s alot going on, I think it’s impossible for us to not be affected right now. Especially, to be black women in this country, at this moment, it’s a lot.

Pri: I can’t even walk around by myself, it’s too much going on.

Jade: Yeah definitely too much going on.

Pri: Mhmmm.

Jade: Yeah. I love though how you talked about perseverance but also giving yourself the ability to take a break.

Pri: Right, even from people too sometimes!

Jade: I’m telling you, sometimes it just be Jade and Jesus, I’m not tryna talk to you right now!

Pri: For real!! Alone time is so important. There’s nothing wrong, it’s just my time.

Jade: Yeah I need my ‘me time’ and my God time.

Pri: Amen!

Jade: Yeah I can have some ‘you’ time later!

(laughter)

Jade: Alright just a few questions left here. What is your favorite part about being an artist?

Pri: That there is no one else like me. Nobody is gonna look the same, we all bring something unique to the table.

Jade: Amazing. We’re all beautiful little snowflakes (laughter). Follow up question to that, what is your favorite part about being Black?

Pri: I love how shapely I am. My hair. I love being natural, at first I didn’t like it. But embracing my body the way I am. I’m dark skin, brown skin whatever you wanna call it. I’m chocolate, chocolate beautiful black queen! And the way I carry myself. I love how I carry myself, and who I am. I love everything about me and everything about being black! Even though a lot of stuff do be going on being a black girl in society. But it's about embracing myself and loving who I am.

Jade: Mhmmm you right. Someone is always gonna have something to say, I ain’t gotta worry about that though (laughter)

Pri: Period!

Jade: Period!


I am so glad I got to hang out with Pri this past week, I hope you enjoyed hearing about her experience as a Black artist and creative!


*Answers have been edited for length and clarity.



17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page